• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help me out w/OC'ing memory..

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

NewbiePCbldr

Just put together new system running a locked XP 2000+ on SOLTEK SL-75DRV5 mobo with CORSAIR XMS CMX512-3200 512MB PC3200 DDR RAM. I am very new to overclocking RAM. I would appreciate any tips you could give me. Thanks!

When you overclock your CPU you will overclock the RAM also. I don't know if the RAM is on the FSB but the RAM will be affected if you change the FSB. Good luck.

BuccKevin said:
lowering your multiplier and raising your fsb will give you more boost than changing the multiplier only..

Thats the trick:

using a 1000mhz cpu as an example with an FSB of 100mhz (to make my math easier)

a mulitplier of 10x would be default. If you unlocked and went to an 11x multi, the cpu would be at 1100mhz, but the bus speed would still be 100 mhz.

If you dropped to a 9x multi and raised fsb to 122, then you would have a 1098mhz cpu on a 122mhz fsb. Since all the components in the computer use the Front Side Bus to communicate with the cpu, everything else would be considerably faster- and the computer would BE a LOT faster.

Memory is included in that- everything is: pci bus, agp and memory.

Sometimes this causes problems in that some components do not like to run out of spec (high fsb); also, some boards are better at it than others.

The most recent boards are coming out with 1/5 divisors to help keep the pci bus in spec: at 180mhz fsb with a 1/4 divisor (older mobos max) anything connected to the pci bus had to operate at 45 mhz, when spec is 33mhz.
Hope that helps......