• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

placing the bleed line...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

beezee

Hi, I'm kinda new to watercooling and I wanted your opinions. I just bought all the parts for my watercooling setup and was wondering where to put my bleed/fill line. Does it really matter how long or where it is? I know it needs to be the highest point, above the rest of the setup (gravity)... but I was wondering if it matter how long and where you put it in the setup.
DangerDen suggests this:
RAD--->Bleed line--->PUMP

However, I wanted to do it this way:
WB--->Bleed line--->RAD--->PUMP

Is that okay? Oh and if I made the bleed line 3-4 inches, would that be okay too? Any help will be greatly appreciated! Thanks...

it should be okay, I personally like to put mine right after the radiator because air gets trapped in there very easily (especially if it's a heater core). Just make sure the T line is put where hte water travels straight and parrallel against the ground so the air goes up.

It doesn't need to be at the highest point in the loop. It works best if you place the tee right before the suction side of the pump. The longer the line for the bleed tube the better because it gives you more reserve coolant.

safemode said:
no need for a bleed line.. fill it up all the way correctly the first time and dont worry about it ever again.

after a while with temp changes and whatnots gasses will extract out of the water

it doesnt matter were the bleed line goes.. what i found makes the BEST bleedline is a copper pipe T with 1/2 hose you slip it over it and with 3/8 you solder 1.5inch ends on each opening to adapt it, it has actual opening(1/2 or 3/8) therefore no restriction...