• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Gigabyte 8-IEXP Need Feedback

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

bmckinley

I would appreciate some feedback regarding my overclock. I have been feeling as though I am not getting as much performance as I should be from my setup (based upon PC Mark 2002 scores), but then I read a few posts in here that have me thinking that perhaps I am getting as much performance as I can expect. Maybe you all can give me your 2 cents worth.

Here is my setup:

Gigabyte 8-IEXP
P4 2.26 Ghz (533mhz FSB)
512 mb Corsair XMS 3200 memory
Ti4600 Video Card
(2) 120 Gb Western Dig. 7200 rpm hard drives (striped array)
Windows XP Home

I have been running the system overclocked at 2.6 Ghz (using EasyTune [in "easy" mode, since I'm new to overclocking and don't really know what I'm doing yet]) for over a month now with no instability whatsoever, with my cpu temp running around 34 degrees Celsius at idle. My last score for PC Mark 2002 was 13,263 (6320 cpu/5439 memory/ 1504 hard drive).

I have seen other scores on PC Mark's website that made me think I should be getting higher scores, such as 2.26 Ghz CPUs overclocked to 3.0 Ghz+, and memory scores near 6000 (wondering why my memory score isn't higher since I'm using Corsair XMS 3200?).

So what do you think? Am I falling short of where I should be, or should I be happy with what appears to be a very stable if perhaps conservative benchmark?