• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help OC Gigabyte 8IHXP Please

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Dizzy in Dallas

I am new to overclocking so bear with me if I do not use the correct verbage.
My system is 2.26B/Gigabyte 8IHXP/Kinston PC 1066 (A01 34NS)
512 Total 2 sticks of 256. 350 Power supply
I want to overclock as high as possible with factory Intel heat sink and fan.
So far I have the FSB to 145(2465) with only other adjustment in BIOS being Overrim voltage "Enable"
It is rock stable at 145 with no heat issue (45c)
My next Bois option is 148, But when I go change to 148 F10 and save/continue it boots goes out (nothing on screen/no video).
I have to unplug outlet from wall and plug back in. Then it boots up and says "Cpu is at wrong setting" so I have to go back onto Bios and go go back to 145.
I have the memory in the first 2 slots closest to the CPU and the crimss in the 2 slots farthest away from CPU. I am assuming that correct? (1and 2 for memory) and 3 and 4 for crimss.
I have tried various combinations of raising the Vcore threw1.575 so on and the memory from 800 to 1066 but it still comes back with "CPU is at wrong setting" at 148FSB.Can some help me with this? What else can I do? I do not think this is a heat issue or a memory issue because it says "Cpu at wrong setting". I think I should be able to go past 145. Can some help me get to the 148 hurdle I am stuck at please?.

I have the GA-8simlp. You should FEEL GOOD, I can't get my 1.8A over 121 FSB. I know its the proc, cause the memory goes to 380+ and I can lock the agp and pci. SO i'm going vidpinning.

FOR YOU ...... It sounds to me like a CPU voltage issue, .... but you should check out the other componets first.