• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Have a p1.7 (originally a dell) want new mother board

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Duke309

Registered
Im relatively new to O/C'ing, i have read some stuff and understand it, but i have some intel motherboard without possibility to o/c at all! (dell screwed me). I have money to get a new motherboard, let me give you the info of what i have, i want to keep as much of it as possible into new board as possible(unless it has it integrated), preferably a raid controller even though i barely know what that is =),

512mb rdram pc 800, leadtek geforce4 ti 4600, turtle beach santa cruz soundcard, p4 1.7ghz(i got this back when 1.7 was as high as it went) and that should be all you guys need.

I want the fastest motherboard yada yada,

**EDIT**
crap, i nearly forgot, the leadtek geforce4 has the ****ing huge heatsink and fan, my p4 came with a heatsink on it, im buying a new 80mm fan, i need some help on one too, i have my case open with a huge fan (high velocity air circulator *lol*) pointed at my open case and with it on high it can push air around very nice. I have the original dell case in which the motherboard is mounted kinda strange so if i need a new case just tell me, also my keyboard is not usb, is there some sort of adapter if the mother doesnt have the slot?

im looking for speeds at least 2ghz

Last edited:
Well, the bad thing is, that cpu is a willammate core, not a northwood. 2ghz with that, while not unlikely, will not hold a candle to what a northwood can do.
You'll also have to determine if the cpu is socket 423 or socket 478. If you have socket 423, you're pretty much out of luck.