• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

P4Pe or P4B533? Help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

XaserII

May I pick some experienced brains here? O.k., even not so experienced. I need help trying to decide a mobo for a 3.06 or 2.8 CPU. I was waiting for a Granite Bay, but I have heard some views that the Granite Bay are not that robust and I would like to upgrade in the next couple of weeks. I want to have this rig ready for some major flight sim and gaming when the wife goes to Florida for her annual 3 week vacation in February. Yea!

I have never used a ASUS before. It seems like you people here have helped a lot of ASUS users, so I am not too afraid to take my chance. If I have issues, I will ask for more help here.

I shall let you guys choose my ram. I was looking at 512mg PC2700, but if the benefits are there, I'll go higher.

Overclocking is something I have not done yet. But I would like to have fast/best mobo/ram within reason, with upgrade options in the future.

In case it may help, I will be adding to this a ATI9700pro. You can probably guess the case I'll be using.

Thank you and Merry Christmas to all. I hope Santa brings all of you a 3.06ghz.

XaserII

Last edited:
I am leaning towards the P4B533 because:

P4PE over volts the CPU
P4PE appears to be less capable of being overclocked
I am considering a non hyper-threading cpu

However the P4PE is perhaps more upgradeable with future CPU's? (Assumes that Hyper Threading will be the direction that new processors take)

So I am high centered and unable to choose between these two mother boards. I'm only a beginner, and the above is based on what I read on this forum.

***Update*** I bought the P4PE, thanks for all the input!:D

Last edited:
ok, I'm realy suprised you didn't get a lot of replys by now....