• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Total Newbie, Buying RAM :p

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

JohnnyTheRed

Hi guys, as the title suggests this is my first system I'll be throwing together.

Just got through getting a ton of help and information from the Cases/PSUs forum, so I figured I'd try my luck over here :p

I just needed a faster comp. Got a P4 2.4 (533fsb) on an Asus P4PE board. What RAM do you suggest? Nothing fancy or state of the art. Just stable...something that won't hold me back.

Looking through the forums it seems most people go for Corsair XMS, Micron/Crucial, or Samsung.

Finally, what should I look for. PC2700 for that type of setup, aye? Will CAS or CL ahve any real impact, or do you just suggest it if I have the money...

Thanks in advance for your time, information, and most of all patience.

Happy New Year

THE name in ram these days is Corsair. If you can afford it- google gear is selling cas2 pc3200 for $170- that is almost garunteed not to hold you back. Cas latency will probably not have a HUGE effect- but if you are gaming its definetly a plus. Its probably a good idea as the cas 2 is not that much more.

If you're currently runnning C2.5, switching to 2 will give you a noticable boost. I would highly suggest you go with Corsair if you're overclocking. Crucial is known for it's stability and reliability so if you're running stock, I'd suggest that.

~THT

DO I really need PC3200 (is it even supported in my system :/ )...thought the max was 2700?

I'm a gamer, but I'm looking more towards it being stable for me. Not really going to be into tweaking the memory in any way.