• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

My first Waterblock ( & many questions )

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Zymrgy

Registered
Hello, I am new here & also to this watercooling game. I have been reading about it for some time & it has held my interest. I finally decided to go for my own "home brewed" setup. Here is a pic of what I got so far.
Picture_002.jpg

This is my first attempt, but I think it will work. I plan on eventually making one out of copper, ( probabally redesing it a few times ) but for now I will stick with the alum version ( cheaper & much easier to work with )
The cap will have 3/8 barbed fittings on it.

so now for the questions...
1- I designed the waterblock to have 1/8" thickness between the cpu & the water channels. Is this too much/little or does it make that much of a difference? I put the grooves in the bottom for no particular reason other than it looks kinda cool...plus I read somewhere that turbulance is a good thing.

2- I am planning on using a heater core out of a car/truck for my radiator. Have any of you gone this route & if so, what make of car/truck did you use? Also, rough dimensions for the heater core would help me out immensly.

3- For the pump, I would like to use a non-submersable model. Having a totally sealed system I think would be best, but the I really don't know. What are the advantages of going with a submersable pump. Also, I have noticed that almost all pumps run on AC, which is fine for now, but how would I get the thing to turn on by using the power button on the computer?

4- What are some good pumps to use? I have been looking at the VIA 1200 mainly due to price.