• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

CD/IDE problems on P4PE? ... Total Newbie here :p

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

JohnnyTheRed

I just got in all the parts for my very first system built by myself.

Only problem I've been having so far is with my CD drive(s). I have one HD, one CD-RW, and one CD-ROM. I would like all three setup together, and as far as I remember it would look like this: HD set to Master on IDE1. CD-RW set to Master and CD-ROM set to Slave on IDE2.

However, regardless of how I set them up, despite all of the combonations, I cannot get Windows to recognize either of the CD Drives.

When booting up, it recognizes the CD-ROM drive ( I don't think it recognizes the CD-ROM drive, but that doesn't matter now), but once I get loaded into Windows, I cannot see the CD drive on the computer.

BIOS is the newest one (1002).

I have tried every combo possible, with respect to cables, placement on cable, IDE1/2, jumpers, etc. So I'm looking for answers taht might include driver problems, or such.....

I was just going to switch in the HD that I've been using in my old comp, that shouldn't be a problem, should it? Do I need to reformat it first? If so, how do I install an OS without a CD drive :/

Thanks so very much in advance for your time, information, and most of all patience.

if I hear you right, just let the mobo do it for you....

in the bios just set it on "auto".

I hope this helps.

mica

Last edited:
I wish it was like that...

I've checked the settings in the BIOS too, and no matter what I change in there, whether I keep it on Auto, or set it to CD-ROM, Windows will not see it. But the BIOS does see it.

I'm stumped, and it's probably some dumb reason I keep overlooking.

Guess I'll just have to wait until tomorrow to call Asus tech support :/

*New Info*