• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Peltier cooling a radiator for a water cooling system??

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Black_Paladin

OK, before you start calling me bad things, let me say that I am a newbie at watercooling so go easy on me! :D I just had this crazy idea of using a peltier on a water cooling radiator. I am just thinking that since the radiator has to be cooled by something anyway (normally fans), why can't we use a peltier between the fans and the radiator? My idea behind this was that it could make the water coming in to the radiator cooler and serve as some kind of "chiller". This way, all the devices that are water cooled in the system would benefit from the temp drop as opposed to just one chip. Plus, since you would be using the peltier only on the radiator, condensation shouldn't be a problem for anything, right?

I don't know, some of you experts might say this is impossible or crazy but just let me know why this wouldn't work if that's the case please. Or, if it could work, could you give me any helpful tips with doing this?

there is not enough potential surface area between the rad and the tec, air would be better to cool the radiator. also the tec cooling would not be efficient unless you had another water loop dedicated to cooling the tec, air cooled tec's havent ever worked well from what ive seen. there are other options along the same lines though, for example, you could put a pelt on your resevoir which might have a slight effect, but again you would need a watercooling loop to cool the tec to get good results. good luck. :) (by the way, the thermal calculations in determining peltier thermal behavior is too complicated to be fun or i would give you some more in depth reasoning, but this should suffice)

Thanks for the reply!