• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Why buy PC2700 if PC2100 is sufficient? (if not OCing)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

fuzzywuzzy

Registered
Hi everybody,

I'm a newb when it comes to overclocking, and I've begun to do some research, however, I haven't been able to find an answer to this one...

CAS and RAS timings for memory modules is important. Fine. I understand that much.

Scenario: I will be purchasing an MSI KT3-Ultra2 mobo (266Mhz) and an AMD AthlonXP 2100+ to match. I intend on purchasing no name PC2700 DDR333 RAM.

Is purchasing no name DDR333 just as good for overclocking as good name brand DDR266 for overclocking? (I'm assuming the RAS/CAS timings are crappy for BOTH, but I'm asking whether the extra 'bandwidth' of DDR333 would some how make up for that, if I were to overclock)

Is there *any* reason why I would want to purchase DDR333 if I were not going to overclock? (My CPU only needs DDR266 anyhow, why spend $15 more??)

If performance matters not to you, cheap out on the ram. Buying quality ram allows you to run higher clock speeds and/or lower latency timings at a given clock speed. Cheap PC2700 ram may actually be slower than quality PC2100 ram as it may not tolerate tight timings even at 266MHz. There are precious few times when you can decide on buying the cheapest and not pay a price. Were it not so there would only exist the cheapest form of each component.