• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Abit and onboard RAID, fail?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

microfire

Just wondering what are the chances of these onboard RAID failing with the Abit mainboards?
My SA6R gives me blue screens of death when I use the RAID feature. Its now disabled and im using the standard IDE connecters.
When I repair my BX133 I am hoping the RAID will work since I have never used it before in an array but only for a single disk. Im looking forwards to high speed harddrive.

Any piece of electronic hardware can fail. What does the BSOD attribute the failure to? Does it mention file system files? What o/s are you running?

WinXP pro

I can't remmember. Something about a unbootable disk volume, just when trying to load into XP. Then there was a different one when I was running mark2k that it could not access disk.

When you say you are using the standard ide connector, is it with the same drive? If it is, did you have the Raid driver loaded? And did you have all 3 boot devices in bios set to ATA raid?

There is something wrong with the high point chip since the friend I got the board off had run RAID 0 for a year then it just started giving out the BSOD at any given moment. Hardrives are OK
My harddrives are brand new. I use two seperate 80 pin cables on IDE 3 and IDE 4, they have been added to the mainboard to run the onboard high point 370 when the board was made. The standard IDE connectors are not RAID capable(IDE 1 and IDE 2). Yes all ATA RAID selected in BIOS. There was no chance of loading any updated driver since I was unable to boot into WinXP pro. Windows XP pro has a High Point driver built into the system anyway and can handle RAID. Windows XP pro even loads up a High point 370 driving during repair mode.