• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

First Attempt at W/C

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ble81

Ok, Like the title says, First Attempt.

I have been reading the posts about spending lots of money
when you decide to Water cool the rig.
I may be wrong, but I would almost have to dis-agree here.

My set up is just a simple setup.

I found a heater core at our local auto scrap yard for $9.00.
I made my own water block using the "Pop-Can" method found
in the O/C Home page / Water cooling section (5/12/02 Pop Can Water Block)
Distroyed pop can was Free, 1/4" Aluminum 2" x 2" Block Free (I work in a factory so this stuff was just laying around).
Hose barbs were bought from Lowes for $1.79 ea.

I found a submersible pond pump on E-Bay I won for $9.00. (130 GPH)

Same trip to Lowes brought me the 4" x 4" x 6" electrical water tight box, Hose barbs, hose clamps, water hose and a Kit-Kat Candy Bar (Hey when you are hungry ....)
I left there spending around $14.00.
The fan for the H/C was Free. I made the shroud for the H/C and Fan out of 1/8 Stiff Couragated Cardboard (also Free). Duct tape Laying around the house - Free.
Distilled water 2 Gal about $1.50.
Plumbers Goop $5.00.
So lets add this up.
9.00 - Heater core
9.00 - Pond pump
14.00 - Lowes trip
1.50 - Distilled water
5.00 - Plumbers Goop
----------------------------
$38.50 - Total

Now I had to put this stuff together - Luckily I am pretty handy with tools and I am pretty comfortable around the Shop ( My Dad has a woodworking shop in the garage). I spent a couple of hours Modding the box and Heater Core with Fittings.