• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How do I overclock my computer?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

typer

Registered
Hi, I'm a newbie at computers and was wondering how do I overclock my computer. I have an AMD 1.2 GHz CPU with a 266 front side bus, an ASUS A7V133/550/SWA motherboard, and 256 Megs of PC-133 RAM. Right now my computer is at the shop and I'm using my old 350 MHz PII again. A few days ago I went into my bios and changed my CPU frequency to 120 (originally 100), and my CPU VCore setting to 1.70 (originally it was at auto), and I left my CPU clock speed at 12.0. After I did all this my computer would not even boot up anymore, which is why I took it to the shop. I was just wondering if anyone could tell me what I did wrong, if I fried my motherboard or wrecked my computer, and what to do if this happens again when I get my computer back (that is if it still works)???? Thanks for any info at all.

Well first, if you have genuine 266 chip(there will be the letter "c" at the end of the number on the chip) you need to set the cpu frequency to 133 mhz to achieve the 266 bus freq (ie: 133+133=266), im not sure if T-Birds have a multiplier limit or not, but if they do...this may be why your not posting, you should also try to "clear" the cmos by shoting the soldier points pointed out in the manual....

Thanks Dutch. I'm sorry but how do I clear the CMOS? Also, if I set the CPU frequency to 133, what should I set my CPU clock speed and CPU VCore setting to? Thanks again

Joel

At first, I would strongly suggest, that you set all your bios settings back to AUTO. So, that you won´t burn up anything.
After this, you could start, to increase your FSB in small steps from 133 on.