• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

GraniTe Bay ??? yes or no

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jackal2513

when the first GB boards were released they got poor reviews here in teh uk but that was in publications not aimed at overclocking. It seems that here on threads and elsewhere, they are the thing to go for in terms fo overclocking. I dont understand why cos im new to all this and dont really understand how the bigger memory bandwidth helps when overclocking ??? Also, do you have to buy double the amount of memory (so for 512 mb you have to buy 1gig ??).

The Giagabyte board seems to be getting a lot fo praise.

I guess im asking if anyone can enlighten me as to why i should go teh granite bay route ? Tomshardware suggested that it may be worth waiting for granite boards that supprt 400mhz ddr as they will be way faster than RAMBUS boards ... any ideas when these will be out ?

Also, what about 200fsb (for future chips), 3/4 memory ratio ???, overvoltage ?? These are thinsg ive read about being important but i dint fully understadn.

All help greatly appreciated ..... money is not that much of an issue, i just want to build a really good system and one that wont suck too badly in say 12-18 months time. I dont want to make any bad mistakes.

thanks for your time

Rich

SiS655 based Dual Channel DDR boards are here (sort of). Just something else to consider:

http://www.anandtech.com/mb/showdoc.html?i=1781
http://www.ocworkbench.com/2003/aopen/ax45-4dmax/ax45-4dmax-1.htm
http://www.ocworkbench.com/2003/gigabyte/sinxp1394/sinxp1394-1.htm
http://www.sudhian.com/showdocs.cfm?aid=318

You don't have to buy double the amount of what you are aiming for...but you will have to have pairs of memory modules in order to run dual channel.