• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

You've Gotta Be Kidding! P4G8X

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

EmTSea19

The Asus P4G8X Deluxe came in stock today at Newegg and is $299.00!

Now, I've never built a computer before, this is my fist one, but this price seems outrageous to me! Especially when most Motherboards are under $200, the majority being well under $150.00.

So, what will the new Canterwood and Springdale's be? $500?

Last edited:
LOL.

I agree, three bills for a mobo is insane. Supposedly, the new Canterwood and Springdale boards are going to be less expensive because they don't need to be manufactured with a six-layer PCB like the Granite Bay boards. (But, there is some evidence the GB boards overclock as well as they do because they are on a six-layer PCB. If this is true then the new boards might not overclock as well, either.)

At $200 I think you can make a case for the GB's. But I don't think its worth three times the price of an Abit BE-7 RAID or Gigabyte GA-8PE667 Ultra.

BHD

Okay, I just looked again at Newegg and that was the price for the retail version. Now, when I click on it, it's out of stock again, *lol*. I don't know what's up with Newegg.

I guess the people paying $640.00 for 3.06 CPU can afford everything, so it's probably not much to them.

I don't think it's worth it either. BTW-Motherboards.org rated the P4G8X(not deluxe I think) not as well as some much cheaper boards.

For me, I'll be getting one under $200, *lol*.

http://www.techmole.com has the deluxe version for $212.80. Doesn't look like OEM either but might very well be. The thing is, one wonders about techmole's reputation on resellerratings...

But in my opinion, this board, even at $212 is still not worth it.

You think that's bad, the Asus has a bid of $460.00 on ebay.