• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

A7N8X DLX BIOS flash

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Serraph

Having trouble flashing my bios. I downloaded the 1002 bios from the asus website, unzipped it, and put the file onto a floppy disk. The file name was AN8D1002.BIN

I restart the computer and at the green A7n8x deluxe logo I hit ALT+F2 and enter the flash screen. I then type in AN8D1002.BIN and hit enter but under message it says "Source file not found!" and won't let me flash. Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong? This is my first attempt to flash ever btw.

Also downloaded the 1001c (what I have now) and put it onto another disk just in case I need to switch back.

Last edited:
If you are coming from 1001g it wouldn't surprise me.....I had the same problem..just make a dos boot disk with awdflash on it and it will work that way

Mine came with 1001.G and i used the procedure he is using without any problems.

Check to see if the name of the bios on the floppy is in capitol letters. Make sure you type it exactly. Sounds like it is just not seeing it because of a typo. If it's in capitols, use capitols. If lowercase use lowercase. And check the spelling a few times to make sure you have it correct when entering it into the flash utility.

Is it available now? When i got this board it looked like the easy way to do it. Never could connect to anywhere though. Asus's sites are never up....

Wouldnt recommend using it either. I had two bad flashes using it with a A7V8X, lucky though as I had two boards, and changed out the bios chip. Started it up than removed the bios chip and put the dead one in while the pc was still running and flashed it back to life. Floppy is safest and wouldnt recommend using that utility whatsoever.