• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

newb questions - AX63pro/c366. h-drive? pci clock ?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

gwailoh

hello, i am new to overclocking. hopefully i'm in the right forum - i didn't see a general beginners one. anyway, as i said i have an Aopen AX63 Pro, with a celeron 366.

my main question is: am i hurting my hard-drive, or other systems by overclocking? i'm currently at 78mhz, with no voltage increase. i've come across this scary warning:

http://www.kingvinnie.com/fastercomputers/overclocking/celeronfaq2.asp

"Be happy with what you can get and try the 75 or the 83 MHz bus. These non-standard bus speeds can really trash your hard drive due to the fact that the PCI bus is also being overclocked. The PCI is at its normal speed (33 MHz) when using the 66, 100 & the 133 MHz bus speeds. Be careful when trying 75 or 83 MHz and back up your data. Be prepared to reformat your hard drive if you encounter disk errors or other unexpected problems, especially at the 83 MHz speed. "

mysterious (to me) settings:

also, should i worry about changing the FSB/PCI clock ratio? the motherboard manual isn't very clear. it is set to 'auto' right now. but i can manual set it to 2x or 3x. any opinions? i can provide more details from the sparse mobo manual if you'd like.

cooling: