• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

low end peltier

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ryuen

i posted in the general cooling, but they said to post here. im kind of new to TECs. i understand faintly how they work. i was going to water but it was a bit expensive. i was wondering if i could get a quiet solution AIR cooled pelt. ive heard ull need a high cfm fan = loud because you need to cool the hot side.

is it possible to get it quiet? like a 37cfm fan? i think im pushing it because ive only seen like tornado styled.

if thats possible ive got more questions:D

*edit*
also forgot to tell you if this is any help. ill prob go low end (as title says) because i dont need 15C temps or anything super low. i jus want low temperatures to avoid too many fans. maybe around wat water can achive?

I'm interested in kinda the same thing, except with water. I don't think you can accomplish what you want to do on the cheap. You'll probably be better off with a Slk-800 or 900 with a panaflo H (32db) fan. With that reasonably quiet fan either sink can handle some pretty good overclocks (I ran a xp1600 at 1.875vcore for 9 months, folding 24/7 with a SLK-800 and a panaflo H).

The thing is that the heat still has to go somewhere, the pelt doesn't make it magically disappear. In fact, the way I understand it, the tec actually adds heat as it transfers it from the coldside to hotside, so you end up needing more cooling (ie louder fans). See this thread for more info.

Finally, to control a pelt so that it just "helps" with the cooling, you have to be able to dial in the voltage either with a variable output power supply, or an electronic one like the VariablePc controller. Or you can get a package like the Thermaltake SubZeroG. Either way you go takes you into the same money level as a good water cooling setup.