• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Gunshy 8PE667 Ultra 2 owner needs overclock advice

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Aj

Cautious newbie needs a bit of help.

What's the best "safe" way for overclocking my Intel P4 2.4b C1 (SL6EF) on a 8PE667 Ultra 2 mb? (Just purchased from NewEgg.)

I really just want to try and push the chip "a little", without risking my system stability. Fyi, I have 2 sticks of Crucial 512MB 2700 RAM ($67 shipped from Googlegear!), plus the retail stock Intel CPU fan.

Specifically, what settings would make sense on the BIOS Freq/Volt. Control Screen? (Or should I just use EasyTune?)

Sorry, I'm a relative newbie at this (last time I overclocked was a Cel550/850 on an Abit Bx6).

Best,
Aj
Detroit

I've got pretty much the same setup, save 512 megs of memory, and it's corsair XMS. Anyhow, Virtually ALL 2.4B C1's will do 166 FSB. And that's just skimping...

Keep it at stock voltage and shoot straight to 168 or so. Play a few games, see how it does. If it doesn't have any hiccups for at least 2-3 hours of gaming, I'd say you're golden. By gaming though, I mean you'll have to be playing some intense stuff ike UT2003, or some relatively new game like that. After doing that, go up in 2Mhz increments with the FSB. When you reach 178 or so, you should probably start having problems (ie. no POST, or no windows startup etc.). It's no biggie. Just turn your computer off manually (ala the power switch on your case) and wait about half a minute or so. Turn it back on and increase the voltage to about 1.625-1.675 if you want to go as high as 178 to 180, which is where I have mine at, and it's running just fine. I tihnk I'm pushing it pretty hard though, so I'll probably back off after Saturday's MCAT, as that's when I'll have all the time in the world! WHOO HOO! hehehe :D.