• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Should I switch to Intel?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

shunx

I've been using AMD boards and CPUs for a few years now, but recently I somehow managed to fail at booting up a couple of my AMD-based computers. Maybe I'm just super clumsy, or maybe it's the low-quality boards I just got. Ironically, the only computers that are working in the house now are two old Celerons!

In any case, I'm simply curious about the overall experiences P4 users here have had with their systems: has anyone ever been unable to boot up their PC, get a blank screen, etc? Anyone ever fried a P4? (Is that even possible, due to thermal throttling?) I have accidentally fried two AMD CPUs in the past, and it was an unpleasant experience.

the biggest problem with the p4 is overvolting.. in the early days quite a few guys fried their chips with too much juice.. otherwise these chips are the most overclockable cpu's ive ever owned.. that includes even the much vaunted thunderbirds ...

I'm only speaking from my experience, but I've read this in magazines and heard of other people going through the same things too...

Basically, Intel is REALLY good for gaming. If you're into games, intel will rock. Combined with a 9700 or 9800 Pro, you've got yourself a beast that'll be a challenge for any AMD user to beat in terms of solidity and overall capacity to run the game smoothly.