• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Problems with GA-7VAXP Ultra

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

walkitiki

I'm new to building computers, but I have some experience with hardware. I just gathered all my components and put them together in what I think is the right configuration. What happens is I can turn on the system, but nothing comes up on the screen. The monitor is on but it acts as though its not connected to anything. I'm running with a AMD XP 2100+, it has a story behind it, I'll get to that later. I have Antec Reference Cooling fan and 256 Crucial PC2100 DDR Ram. I am going to use the RAID function so I have 2 Western Digital 7200rpm HDDs, they were plugged into the motherboard, but I removed them to limit the amount of variables in my problem. I also have a Samsung 52x24x52 cdrw and a Lite On 16x DVD. None of the drives are connected to any power or to the motherboard. I have tried two different video cards, one Nvidia MX420 64mb PCI card and an Nvidia TNT2 card. Neither of which put anything up on the screen or registered with the monitor.
The CPU I bought of a close friend which he had bought from Newegg.com sometime ago. It had never been used, just its old. I was wondering if this could somehow cause a problem with my motherboard.
If anyone has any responses or advice on where I went wrong, what could fix it, or what I should try to replace, PLEASE post a response or email me. Thanks for any and all help.

-walkitiki

What exactly happens? is it just the LEDs and fans work and nothing else happens?, Do you hear the HDD getting accessed?
What size brand PSU do you have?
Hood