• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Is this possible?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Mike521

Hey all, I'm new to water cooling and just wondering if what I want is a possibility..

I'd like to get some sort of water cooling setup, the main reason I want it is to lower the noise level of my pc. I'd like to spend no more than 50 dollars.. alright I can go as high as 100 but thats really expensive.
and I'd like something thats very easy to set up since I've never done this before..
and that hopefully keeps my cpu around 50 C at full load...

is this a possibility? I was reading through the reviews and found one that looked like exactly what I'd want, the aguillia water cooling kit

http://www.overclockers.com/articles738/

but its 150 bucks (or at least it was, at the time of the review)..

I skimmed through some other reviews there, but the setups looked fairly complicated...

anyway like I said, my main goal is to quiet down my loud pc, at a cheap price.. do you guys think that is a possibility?

thanks in advance for any advice!

by the way, my current cooling is a thermaltake volcano 9 smartfan. Its really nice, and more quiet than my old fan, but its still not silent..

thanks again!

Well it is possible, assuming you have the tools and skills to make it happen. If you could make your own water block, make a passive rad like others have done, and get a maxi-jet, you might be able to pull it off for your price range.

Oh yeh, and just about every pre-built system is alot worse than whatever you build.

buy a chevette heater core @ an auto parts store for like 17bucks, maxijet 1300 for 30 and 5 feet of clearflex for 6.25, and make your own block, that's about the cheapest you can get, you dont need to put barbs on the heater core, the clearflex will fit on the ones already on it

:(