• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

GA-Sinxp1394 RAM Voltage Question???

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

FrozenFears

My Motherboard works great except for one major and very annoying exception. Even though the board is advertised as "DDR400+" It refuses to run stable when my Ram is set at or above DDR400. The Voltage control in bios only gives you 2 options, either "Normal" or "+0.1V" I have 2x512MB sticks of Geil PC3700 DDR466 Ram, which is rated at 2.5-3.1V, my motherboard is the Gigabyte Sinxp1394 (ver 1.0).

I am a bit of a newb when it comes to this, but I believe standard/normal RAM voltage is 2.5V??? if so that means I can only take my voltage up to 2.6V??? This is an obvious problem if I can't give my ram the Voltage it needs, I'm assuming it needs somewhere between 2.7-3.1V when trying to run it at those higher speeds.

I was wondering if there is any way to update my bios not using Gigabytes Bios for this board, I already have the latest bios for my board. Could I use a Bios from a different Gigabyte board? Or a different manufacturer completely? I've read posts about this saying its very "hit or miss" but doing so would make it theoretically possible for my motherboard to have access to different ram voltage settings? Also if that is not possible, or doesn't work, is there any other way to get access to and be able to change the DRAM Voltage settings? Or am I just stuck with Ram that my mobo can't fully utilize?

A side note, Gigabyte has the dual bios feature, so from what I've read about it, if I severely mess up my first bios chip, I have the backup which I can use to flash/repair the one I mess up. Or at least thats how its supposed to work... So I guess it makes my bios "experimentation friendly" hehe...

Wel there are modden bioses I will search for the link ok