• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Freon or Water

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

RyanK27

Registered
I am building a PC and plan on getting an AMD 1700+xp T-bred and overclocking it to about 2100 at least. I was wondering since my dad brought up the idea would it be good to use Freon instead of water, im not sure but he was also saying if there is a leak that freon most likely wont damage anything as opposed to water will of course.This is my first build and right now all i have is about $30 but will be getting a job in about a month or less. Id like to build my own cooling sytem so any suggestions would be helpful.
Thanks

If your dad does have a license to handle freon, then go for it. I am not really sure how to set up a refrigeration cooling kit, which it sounds like you are trying to set up. As watercooling goes, water with a little water wetter and iodine to prevent bacterial growth makes a good water cooling solution.

I think the kid has hit on something THAT we overclockers MIGHT see in the not so far future FREON cooled systems instead of the water coolers..........But I have not seen the hardware for these type of applications yet, BUT if you think you can find a better refrigeration system "other than the typical watercooling" and of course the obvious YOU WILL HAVE TO USE COPPER hoses because the regular hoses WILL freeze up . but then again you have to think of the opposite effect of overheating and that overfreezing

But you hit on something good