• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help a newb pick a board?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Mikes95XLT

Ok I'm new to building a system but have narrowed my mobo choice down to 2 boards.....

Abit IC7-G
DFI PRO875 Lan Party

I don't plan to overclock until I learn a little more about it, but what board would you recommend for a newbie building a system? Ease of use? Etc?

Thanks guys, I appreciate any info.

I agree, but isn't DFI also known for good tech support? I was reading another thread on that board, and everyone seems to like that one too..... so I'm between them both still.... are there any pros or cons to either one?

another good question... does your comp have a window???
if it doesn't the whole eye-candy appeal of the DFI goes away. Once you go for overclock i think the ABIT will treat you better.

They're both fine boards, a recent Anand review showed the DFI board is a damn good overclocker also, of course we all know Abit is still the first choice of overclockers in general though. If it were me, i'd see which is cheaper and go with that one, nothing wrong with getting a great mobo and saving a few $$$'s.

My case does have a window. I bought the Chieftec Dragon.

I did see the Anandtech review, and I really like the sound of the DFI board, but like you said about Abit that they're known among people. I don't plan to overclock just yet, but if I do DFI seems to have a winner from what I've read.

Such a tough decision.... thanks for the info. :)

looks like abit may have a board revision soon. so it may not be a good idea to buy the ic7-g just yet. You may want to wait until the new board hits the usa.

Looks like the same with asus. Asus looks like they have a new board comming in about a week.