• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need some help in deciding air vs water

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
Well I have around 150$ to spend on improving my case and cpu cooling as its not up to snuff in my opinion since summer is here. Here are my options: Swiftech MCX462+ Rev. 2 + Vantec Tornado 92mm fan plus a few panaflo case fans and I would want a fan speed adjuster so i can tone it down at night and a few round cables to help airflow, this comes out surprisingly to about 140 at the HSF (heatsink factory) before shipping. Alternativly I go WC, which i'm new at so it'd be quite an adventure. I was looking at the MAZE4 Intro Kit which seemed attractive for price/proformance. I need something that will fit in my mid tower with out any modifications to the case. I have two quick questions about WC (from what i've ready on this ste/forums is a bit unclear.) First is mobilty, will i have to take everything apart drain the system ect if I wanted to move it say out of the room? Also is there a fool proof way of getting nonconductive water (I thought distilled water which didn't have ions didn't conduct, but its used so its not corsovie to the metals or is that a double purpose?). Suggestions for what would be a decent system like the maze4 would be great (I know, another n00b getting into wc). Either solution I would want something that not only would cool a moderte oced Athlon xp 2000 (haven't unlocked it yet) but also cool say an opteron(sp?). I don't want to put down a 150 dollors only to have to upgrade in a year or so.

edit: heres my case btw: http://www.directron.com/998k.html
Its not a big case and i have a cdrw and dvd drive so that leaves 2 5.25 bays open

Thanks
Paul

Last edited: