• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

how many cut-off wheels will i need?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

AZImmortal

i'm planning on cutting at least four 80mm holes into my steel case, and i was wondering how many fiberglass reinforced cut-off wheels i would need to do such a job. i've already ordered a pack of 10, but i've never done this before so i don't know what to expect. also, would diamond cut-off wheels be better? i've seen mixed reactions to them, and i can't seem to find a place that sells packs of them for a good price.

I went through 3 just doing a window mod in my hard drive(aluminum) with my dremel. Admited though they were not 80mm to start, more like 30mm.

One of my friends used 4 cutters with my dads dremel to cut a circuler shape for a 120 fan... Althought i think it was cheap crap that comes with it when you buy the set :rolleyes:

Those things dont tend to last very long heh

schismspeak said:
jigsaw works for me, just use the dremel to make the starting hole.
u used a jigsaw to cut a circular hole? is that hard? my dad has a jigsaw, but i'm not sure if we have any blades for cutting steel.

Yeah it works, if you have something to hold the panel down ( my knee works for me), and it works fine for other parts of your case too, you could just cut a square also, it really dont matter, just make sure the square is smaller than the fan (ofcourse). Circular holes, IMO, are no harder then cutting a square hole and might actually be easier because you dont have to make a 90* turn.

Blades for cutting steel are at most a couple of bucks at the local hardware store.

schismspeak said:
jigsaw works for me, just use the dremel to make the starting hole.