• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

General newbie Mobo questions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Aldred_85

Registered
Well to cut it short im after a new motherboard, but i have very little knowledge on them. So without going into exact models which brands represent good value for money and are stable, etc.
What kinda chip do i want? KT400? Nforce2? enlighten me:p
Also, what other standards should I be looking for? What Things/brands should i avoid?

Thanks,
Aldred_85 :)

I know I'm not as heavy as most of the grizzly veterans on these forums but here's my advice:

1. Buy an Abit or MSI, they are the only boards I have used with no problems...
2. If you plan on playing heavily and don't mind fishing through a few problems, get an nForce2 board.
3. If you aren't going to O/C or get fishy, go with the KT400 because every almost every VIA based board I've worked on has been good to me and the user.
4. Make sure it supports the Front-Side Bus your proc is using and maybe higher for upgrading in the future. (Example: an AMD 2200+ uses a 266 Mhz FSB, get a board with up to 400 Mhz FSB so you can buy that Barton 3200+ down the road...)
5. Avoid ASUS, Gigagarbage, ePOS..I mean Epox, and ECS (which stands for Extremely Cheap S@#!).
6. If you want good onboard sound, go with the nForce2 boards, the Dolby Digital/Soundstorm rock.

Like I said, I haven't been posting on this forum since Hector was a pup like some of these fellas, but in concensus here's what it boils down to:

- If you want an excellent O/Cing board with good on-board sound, buy an Abit NF7-S Version 2.0 (Contact ExcaliberPC if you wan't to buy one cause they guarantee you it will be a v2.0 board)