• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help! 8RDA+ and Thermalright SLK-800 and Hot?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Drinyth

Registered
Hi All. I just registered and am relatively new to overclocking (although I have a lot of computer experience - just mostly at "retail" levels). In any case, I'm experiencing somewhat poor performance from my 8RDA+ and Thermalright SLK-800 and was hoping that you folks would be able to help. My setup is the following:

- Chieftec "Dragon" case w/ 4 case fans - two intake near the lower front and two exhaust in the back.
- AMD 2700+ Thouroughbred-B
- Epox 8RDA+ w/ Vantec Iceburq active cooling on Northbridge and passive heatsink on Southbridge
- Thermalright SLK-800(a) with generic 80x80x20 30 cfm case fan (I think that's what the fan is from what I can tell).

Currently, I'm running at 11.5x200 (2300 MHz). I'm reading my temperatures from MBM5 and my temperatures have been as follows:

CPU: 45 idle / 51 load
Case: 30 idle and load

I was running at 12x200 for a while, but under load, the CPU temperature started climbing to 56-57 and I got nervous so backed down my settings a bit even though Prime95 hadn't spit out any errors.

I just got the HSF today and have tried remounting it already with little change in its effectiveness. I was careful to clean the heatsink and CPU core with acetone and rubbing alcohol before placing a thin layer of thermal grease. I am using the generic thermal grease that came with the Thermalright SLK-800(a) although I may get some AC3 tomorrow if people think it will really help?