• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

General Cooling Question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Ricky55

Can anyone please help me I've been messed about by my local PC supplier.
I am trying to get an Athlon XP 2400 TBRED processor running on a ASUS A7V8X MB, I have also got the latest BIOS Revision 1012.

The system worked fine with a slower processor, the Athlon XP 2400 but now everytime I set the processor to run at 2700 or (2153mhz) the system resets its self when undertaking processor intensive tasks.

I have PC probe installed on my system and I have noticed that the temperatures increase over 55c is this ok?? onbe other thing that rises is the 12V, this rises over the threshold set by PC probe.

What is this 12V I am totally new to configuring processors etc.

Can anyone suggest a solution, I am using a Global Win FSP 82 heat sink and fan.

any advise or help will be much appreciated, could the power supply have any bearing on this?? I have a 350 watt supply in a lian li PC 7 case.

Thanks very much

Ricky55

although ur temps are relatively high, that doesnt seem to be ur problem with the reboots.. that 12v rising is rather odd, usually voltages on ur PSU drop when the cpu is running intensive tasks such as prime 95.

I think the pinpoint of this problem may be the fact that ur PSU cant feed the juice of such a highly overclocked processor, it takes more power that maybe ur PSU just cannot provide. .. whats ur PSU's brand?

I'm not too sure what brand it is, I didn't spend a lot of money on it so I guess its just cheap unbranded one.

By the way I'm not over clocking the processor yet I'm just trying to get it stable at the speed it should be running at.

Its a Athlon XP 2700 processor.

Do you think it could be the power supply then?