• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

I am new to this and need a bit of advice.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Ibiza

Registered
Greetings, i am new to the forum and i hope that i can help anyone who asks and also recieve some help.

I am currently in the process of finishing my designs and specifications for my first fully self-built PC. I need some suggestions about cooling the CPU.

I was originally planning to use the HSF that comes packaged with my processor ( P4 2.8c). I was told that this would do the job although it might be a bit louder than other aftermarket HSF's. I am not planning to overclock immediately, but i do plan to eventually overclock so i am considering purchasing a seperate HSF, one that is better. I have a few different options that i have considered:

1. Using the packaged one and replacing the fan with a Cooler Master Aero Blower or other fan.

2. Purchasing a Cooler Master Aero 7+

3. Purchasing another brand ( thermaltake maybe?) HSF.

What do you recommend that i do?

What HSF do you recommend? (im trying to economize, so best for price)

Any other advice that might help me?

Thanks, Cesar

P.S. Mobo is an Asus P4P800 Deluxe

thermalright slk-800u with a thermaltake smart fan 2...this will cost a total of around $40 but it will be well worth it. before you oc you want a quite system, just run the fan at 3500 rpm or less and you'll still get good airflow plus it's quite. you can run the fan as low as 1300rpm-20cfm of air-17db...at full throttle-4800rpm-75cfm-and noticeable noise but nothing like those 60mm screamers. I keep mine at 3500 rpm and I OC with an idle at 37c give or take 1c and full load at 41c give or take 2c...it varies on the room temp day to day.