• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

intercooler liquid

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

found404

Just introduced a mate to wcing and we went down the scrappy and got 3 heater cores for £5 each or $8.18 not bad eh.

Anyway to the point he's a bit of a mechanic and was telling me some people use intercooler liquid instead of water to cool their engines. So i imagine it must be designed to cool better than water, and all bacterial growth risks should be eliminated since this stuff is for more performance.

All i want to know is if anyone has tried this or knows anymore about intercooler liquid or if it even exists as i know nothing about cars so my friend could be talking out of his a$$.

Later

I'm a chemist by training, and I don't know anything that has a better heat capacity than water. I also don't believe it's even possible to have a liquid with better heat capacity than water. There are some products that have similar heat capacites, such as glycol or alcohol, that can be used as additives or under certain extreme conditions. (>100C, <0C) But these products have many undesirable characteristics in most situations, and can't match water's performance.

Possibly he means people use a combination of anti-freeze and water to prevent the coolant (water and anti-freeze mix) from freezing inside of the engine block but I doubt that is what he was talking about. People often use an intercooler system in turbocharger or supercharger forced induction situations where the intercooler is basicly used as mini-radiator to cool the incoming air before it's sucked into the engine. I have never heard of intercooler liquid before. My guess is your friend is doesn't know what he's talking about.

I'm seeing friend today so will ask about it, although i do think you guys are right.

Will keep you posted.