• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Time to Upgrade HS - Which One?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Shade00

I've been using an SK-6+ for several months and it's served me well. However, I'm tired of my CPU hitting 55C under load. I've been looking at getting a new heatsink, and specifically either the AX-7, the SK-7, or maybe the SLK-700. I want the SLK-800U (or A), but it costs too much :( . Give me your thoughts on an upgrade and which one of those would perform the best. I'm planning on keeping the 80mm Zalman fan on whichever heatsink I get. Thanks!

Hmmm... The SLK700 actually performs a little worse than the SK6+, and the SK7 a bit better. However, the SK6+ is a very solid heatsink to begin with, and IMHO, the only upgrade that would be worth it over it would be an SLK800. Look here to see a comparison of all of these.

I know this may be extreme. But I am extremely happy with the SLK900u. I was previously on an AX7.

My load temps before were close to 48*C with a Panaflo L1A on the AX7, now with the SLK900u they are 42*C. That is a pretty big change IMO. The AX7 can be purchased as Case-mod.com for 15 bucks right now I believe.

edit: Forgot to mention that I was able to eliminate 2 case fans an still maintain the same temps. I have a super chip 1700 Tbred if you are wondering bout my proc. I run it at 2.0ghz.

Thanks for that link Gautam. I was searching for it but I couldn't find it.

According to that chart the SLK700 performs slightly worse, but it's using a low-noise, low-RPM TMD fan, and I use a low-noise, low-RPM 80mm fan. That SK-6+ is using a 7000 RPM Delta. I actually suspect that I'm getting performance closer to the SK-6 listed there with the Delta 38.