PDA

View Full Version : Motherboard + CDrom = No Post?!



Indigo_ts
07-13-03, 10:20 PM
I've been running with an a7m266-d for a while now, but it seems that it simply won't boot with a cdrom in it. I've tried two cdroms, whenever they are attached, in any configuration it won't post. Any ideas, anything I should try?

NiTrO bOiE
07-13-03, 10:23 PM
Are the cables connected right? Did you try it on both channels? Primary, Secondary?

Bobby
07-13-03, 10:25 PM
You might also check the boot order in the bios. It should be floppy>cd rom>hd or it will never boot with a cd.

-Bobby

Indigo_ts
07-13-03, 10:25 PM
Originally posted by NiTrO bOiE
Are the cables connected right? Did you try it on both channels? Primary, Secondary?

Yup, with and without the harddrive, different ide cables.

Indigo_ts
07-13-03, 10:28 PM
Originally posted by Bobby
You might also check the boot order in the bios. It should be floppy>cd rom>hd or it will never boot with a cd.

-Bobby

But, I don't even get video, and it doesn't even start to boot. :(

moz_21
07-13-03, 11:52 PM
sounds like the cables are reversed (pin 1 on the cable is on pin 40 of the CDROM). I've done that on cables that are not keyed. Are yours keyed?

Indigo_ts
07-14-03, 01:51 PM
Alright, I tried everything I could and ended up copping out and buying an ide controller card, but as it turns out its going to speed up my harddrive from ata100 to 133 so it was almost worth it.