• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

DTEK whitewater Aluminum or Poly

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

PerpetualBliss

Registered
I am having a hard time deciding on either the aluminium topped or Poly topped D-TEK White Water. I am afraid that putting the aluminium into my system could present a corrosion problem And I am afraid of potential fractures in using the Poly top. Could the metal top be useful in radiating heat if the pump stops working. I have never used water cooling before but have been following it for months and thought about it for years. I preordered the aluminium top but am not sure if I should switch to the poly. They both seem to have positive and negative aspects. That poly top sure looks sweet! Hmmm... What to get? What do you think?

Last edited:
PerpetualBliss said:
I am having a hard time deciding on either the aluminium toped or Poly toped D-TEK White Water. I am afraid that putting the aluminium into my system could present a corrosion problem And I am afraid of potential fractures in using the Poly top. Could the metal top be useful in radiating heat if the pump stops working. I have never used water cooling before but have been following it for months and thought about it for years. I preordered the aluminium top but am not sure if I should switch to the poly. They both seem to have positive and negative aspects. That poly top sure looks sweet! Hmmm... What to get? What do you think?
Your concerns are valid... Except that the top will be of NO USE should the pump fail, makes no diff what material it is. Since D-Tek reworked the barbs and the poly tops, I think they should be bulletproof and no chance of corrosion with the poly top. Tough call but if it were me, id go for the poly.