• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

? about reservoir and filling the lines

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ScissorClaw

I'm setting up a water cooling rig with a Maze3 on the CPU and another WB on the GPU. I have a bay-res all ready to be used, but now I'm trying to decide if I really need it, or want it. Sure, it will look cool when I hook up the UV cathode and have the UV red-dye flowing, but is it REALLY neccesary?

Also, if I do not go with a reservoir, how would I fill the system. I have the the pump on the inside and then the input and output tubes go out the back through a couple of holes I dremeled to a BlackIce Xtreme II rad. I'm new to this, so I was wondering if I can just slide a t-connector in somewhere by the rad to fill up the lines. The rad, without the reservoir, is the highest piece of equipment in the loop, so I figure the xtra can be bled out at the t-conector also? is this correct thinking?

I preffer a reservoir...filling and bleeding is MUCH easier and MUCH faster.

If you don't want it though, all you need is a t-connector. Some people buy the premade ones you can turn on and off...when I wanted to test my setup but hadn't drilled holes for my reservoir (junction box) yet, I just bought a sprinkler system T-connector and put a 6" tube off the top and kept it pointing up

If I do go with the reservoir, I have to have that as the highest point in the loop, correct? Isn't that the best way to ensure that all the air can escape properly? Forgive if I seem like a n00b. When it comes to water cooling, I pretty much am. I figure this should be a great learning experience. However, my wife is ready to send me to Bellevue for a nice little evaluation:eek: