• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Water cooling temp problem! Please help!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

InsaneO/cer

Registered
Hey guys, i am still a noob to water cooling and having major problems. My temp just wont stay down. Here is a Screen shot of my temps at idel.

temps.JPG

I think that is just horrible.

My system specs are:

ThermalDragon|Intel P4 3.0CGhz|Abit IC7-G|Corsair TWINX XMS3200 512MB (2X256)|Western Digital SE 80gb 7200rpm HDD|Antec TruePower 480 Watt|LiteOn 48x24x48x Cd-rw & 16x DVD-ROM|ATI 9800 pro 128mb|Win Xp home.

Everything is running a default settings. Now i know that abit reads the temps high but i was getting 1c lower on the STOCK COOLER!

Thing i have tried:
Place a can of ice on top of res to cool the water-no go
Place a fun pulling and sucking air on the rad-no go

Watercooling specs
DD Maze4 Intel P4 CPU Waterblock
Procore from detek
Bay res from detek
EHEIM 1250 317GPH pump
Water wetter
Tubes
Clamps
120mm fan
Bin from target.

Thanks guys

Insane

Ignoring your idle temps for the moment, how do your load temps compare (old setup versus new)?

Full load with stock cooler 57c water cooling 55c

Feel the waterblock under load, is it warm or neutral? Could be a mounting problem :/

Ok will do. If is it neutral that means it is not mournted right correct?

I've an Abit IC7 myself.. The temp monitoring is only useful as a relative tool, imo. For example, your cpu is running at +9.5 C in relation to your case temps, and you've got a 2C temp drop under load (where it counts) reletive to your old setup. Considering that your cpu fan is no longer in place, and the "proxy cooling" that it used to do for nearby components (including temp monitors) is no longer taking place, the results aren't really too bad.