• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Quick Question - Building My First PC

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Val155

Hello Pro's... I got a quick question for you. I am building my first ever PC. I purchased all of the parts below from Newegg. My question is,the Retail Intel P4 2.6 processor that comes right out of the box has a black thermal pad on the bottom of the heatsink. Not knowing my heatsink already had this pad, I went to Best Buy and bought Antec's Silver Thermal Compound. I have never applied compound before since this is my first time at this and I would prefer not to and just use the thermal pad since it is already applied to the heatsink.

Is this OK? Will the thermal pad be good enough to protect the CPU? Do i have to do anything to the pad before I install the heatsink? Is there anything I have to peel off before mounting it on the CPU? Sorry for the lame questions, I just want to do this the right way.

Intel P4 2.6
ASUS P4P800-VM Motherboard
Crucial 512KB 400 MHZ PC3200

Thanks!

the thermal pad works pretty good
you can use it if you're not to sure on applying the thermal paste

if you're going to use the thermal pad that came with the HS,
you dont have to do anything with the pad
just drop it in

you can use the pad on the heatsink just fine. If you do not plan on overclocking, it will do fine. However, the best bet would be to clean off the pad and apply your own paste because paste will provide a better medium to transfer your heat from the CPU to the heatsink (isn't that the whole purpose anyhow? :) )