• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

P4C800 deluxe overclock option

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

punkassgrunt

It has the option to overclock in the Bios. How is this? I am new to overclocking and don't really know how. Can I use this, and the highest % is 40% overclock. I have a p4 3.0 800fsb, 512mb pc3200. Whats the highest I can overclock?

p4 3.0

punkassgrunt said:
It has the option to overclock in the Bios. How is this? I am new to overclocking and don't really know how. Can I use this, and the highest % is 40% overclock. I have a p4 3.0 800fsb, 512mb pc3200. Whats the highest I can overclock?

If your system is like mine the 10% is the best it will do on auto, I have heard a couple say they get 20%. You can however, turn off the auto stuff and do it manually by changing the voltages and the FSB and ram timings. Give this a try:

In the bios:

Choose ADVANCED

SET JUMPER FREE TO MANUAL

CPU EXT FREQ to 228

DRAM FREQ to 320

AGP/PCI to 66/33

CPU VCORE to 1.7v

DDR REF to 2.75v

AGP to 1.60v

HIT ESC BACK TO MENU THEN CHOOSE CHIPSET

CHANGE TO MANUAL

CAS to 2.5

RAS to 3

RAS TO CAS to 3

PRECHARGE to 7

BURST to 4

HIT F10 AND SAVE AND REBOOT

This should boot up at about 3.4 ghz which is more than the 10% auto setting.. If it does, then go back to bios and change the CPU EXT FREQ to a couple numbers higher. Keep increasing that a couple of numbers until it no longer will boot. Then back down to the last good boot.

At this point change your CHIPSET settings down to 2-2-2-5-4 and see if it will boot. If it does, drop the voltages back to their default settings and see if it still works...Always run your voltages as close to stock default as you can because they will increase your temps at the higher levels.