• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

please help...new

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Ryencool

Registered
I just finished putting a new system together, here are the specs

Soyo kt400 dragon lite MB
AMD athlon xp 2400+
256mb Crucial 3200 ddr
300 watt PSU ( hits 390 )
60gig WD HD
Geforce 4 440mmx 128mb ddr agp
dvd
cdrw

My problem now is over heating. My biss reads diffrent numbers than sandra and sandra has some stuff that i dont understand. Then cpu was running at 55c, its has a oem HSF. On the rear i have a coolermaster 32cfm exhaust fan. THe power supply also has a 120mm fan on it. It was getting so hot that i took a side panel off and im shooting a regular household fan at it, till i can figure things out. What should i do??

I want to get a better HSF first. Then my case is so old it only has a exhaust outlet and thats it. The front theres a oldschool speaker that isnt even used, so i might cut that out and put a 120mm intake fan there. In sandra it says my pci slot is way to hot 65c+, im guessing thats my vid card cause its the only slot i have filled. THen it says my power/ aux temperature is too hot, what is that? is that the heat of my power supply? Over all im just upset cause I have a decent computer but its getting way to hot when i push it ;(, any comments would be great, and i can post pics if that would help

WELCOME TO THE FORUMS
If you want a good cheap heatsink get an SK-7... your temps look awfully high even if your case only has one exhaust... is 55C idle? have you tried reseating the heatsink? Sorry i can't help with the sandra prog:(

well i just put it all together again, side panel and all to get a base reading in the bios and here is what i got.

cpu 50c
case 30c
cpu on die 70c