• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

major heat problems

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

CVW

Registered
ok i bought an slk-800 A (the one with the 3 prongs) and used it to replace a ****ty volcano 9 that i got for free. for some reason i had no thermal compound + volcano 9 before and now i have slk 800 with as3 and im getting slightly lower temps but my load temps are waY WAY HIGHER. i was getting around 50 for load and now i just started playing a game and it went to around 56. how is this possible. i think i may have put too much thermal compound on but not sure. EDIT*** my idle temps were 41 b4 and now they are 36-38 so not that big of a difference.

Last edited:
if you put too much thermal compound, that could very easily be the problem... it should be a very very very thin layer

ok i just wiped all the as3 off and put a bit on and thining it out with a credit card and just for a note b4 this my bios was saying 78 celcius!!!! now its down to 60 or so but wtf with a volcano 9 i had this down to 40-50 this is pathetic

are you sure its secured correctly? if its not hitting your chip on maximum surface area it will definatly get hot. make sure you have alot of pressure on that thing holding it down. also try lapping the bottom of the heatsink to ensure its making good flat contact area and a good smooth surface.

ive done everything except lapping the heatsink but it jsut baffles me how im running a 2400 XP and a slk 800 is outperformed by a volcano 9 WITHOUT ANY COMPOUND this is rediculous should i just not use any compound at all?