• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New comp, running a little hot.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

-=Ambush=-

So i just build my first computer myself (yay! :) ) and My cpu is running a little hot.

buuutt...the case thermometer (thermatake xaser 3) and the motherboard (asus a7n8x) say different temps. The case temp says 53-55c idle and the motherboard says 45-46c. I have a new AMD athlon 3200+ XP and a volcano 11+ heatsink, this with the heatsink at full RPM too.

So my first question is why are the two readings different? And assuming the motherboard has the right temp, is that normal for a 3200+?? Also, I don't have thermal paste on, would that help? And finally (since you know by now i'm a noob when it comes to overclocking) what is the highest temp that a processor should be when 100%??

Thanks all.

-=Ambush=- said:
So i just build my first computer myself (yay! :) ) and My cpu is running a little hot.

buuutt...the case thermometer (thermatake xaser 3) and the motherboard (asus a7n8x) say different temps. The case temp says 53-55c idle and the motherboard says 45-46c. I have a new AMD athlon 3200+ XP and a volcano 11+ heatsink, this with the heatsink at full RPM too.

So my first question is why are the two readings different? And assuming the motherboard has the right temp, is that normal for a 3200+?? Also, I don't have thermal paste on, would that help? And finally (since you know by now i'm a noob when it comes to overclocking) what is the highest temp that a processor should be when 100%??

Thanks all.