• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New Temps

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Val155

I just wanted to know if the temps for my new PC are normal as I am new to PC building. My 2.6ghz cpu is running at 46C and my P4P800 Motherboard is running at 36C. Is this OK?

Also, my computer desk has a little cubby hole like area for a PC to fit in. It's entirely open in the back and front. The thing is, the sides are sort of narrow, but my pc can fit in with about a half of an inch on either side. Is this OK or am I damaging my PC? Before I put the PC in there, my temps for the CPU where 41-43C and motherboard 31-33C. I have one side fan on my case and I'm afraid I am not allowing any air to flow through properly.

It does sound like you are cutting the airflow off to the side mounted fan...and no you are not damaging the CPU...but you might be overworking the fan if it is somewhat blocked...

But if you could list what HS and what thermal paste you are using and how many case fans you have...this would help also...

I am using the regular thermal pad and heatsink that came with the CPU. My powersupply has 2 fans and my case has to rear fans, one outtake and one intake and a side fan that sits right over the MB.