• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Best fan for slk 900??????? PLEASE HELP

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
Okay tornado 92mm...modded to run at 17volts :D

super low temps...just keep fingers and anything else you cherrish away from it.

scoobie

the -5v line coming from your power supply. If you connect the positive fan wire to the normal +12v on your molex connectors, and stick the black wire onto -5v on the atx connector you get 17volts

I don't recommend such a major and complicated mod for a newbie ;)

but yes there are ways to volt mod cpu fans.

and then you watch that baby really cool.

scoobie

im just a newb in modding lets get that stright hehe!! can i have ur email so u can expalin this to me properly!?!?! that would be a great help :)

Your power supply (PSU) has at least one line that gives you -5v. The -5v can be found on the motherboard connector by looking at the diagram on your manual. If you connect the red wire (positive) on your fan to the +12v yellow wire on your 4 pin molex, then stick the negative black wire from the fan to the -5v connector wire in from your PSU, you will get a total of V1-V2=12-(-5)=17v.

If you really want to up it even more, you can plug the negative from the fan into the -12v on the mobo to give you 24v for your fan....

can i have either of ur emails so u can talk me through it! this would reallly help me overclock please please please reply :)

Actually, its not really a great idea to up the voltage on your fans...most people only do a 7v mod eg to lower the noise. By upping the voltage, you greatly reduce the life of your fan and there is a higher chance of failure while running your system.

So I don't personally recommend it. I only posted the info cause you asked for it. Danger factor 3/5.