• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

WC or buy new cpu? :P

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Calavera

I am considering the WC route but I'm a complete noob to this and would like some input.

Here's my setup:
ATi 9700pro 330/330
p4 2.66 @ 2.9
512mb ddr ram
wd 120g hd
vantec "stealth" psu
Lian Li PC61 case

Will I see way more gains with WC? How much does a WC usually run for and would it be better if I built a custom kit myself? What parts would you recommend?

The thing that worries me is that I dont think WC would fit in my case. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanx in advance.

best thing to do in this situation is examine your case, your budget, and how u think watercooling will benefit you. the search function is a good start if you feel lost.

In my opinion you will "gain" things like less noise, better temps, but real gains depend on your components/configuration. Take your 9700pro as example 330/330 is very conservative, my 9700pro does 396/344 easy on stock air. This is an example of config, your GPU O/C is around 1 1/2 percent(very little), your CPU O/C will depend on RAM(ratio), and MoBO. Certainly keeping it cool with water will help, but ultimately its up to your bits and peices, and how you choose to use them.

Last edited:
I would have to say go water. For one you no longer have to worry about noise, you'll get better temps and you'll be able to use it for while with different CPUs. So far I've doneair from stock to the Swiftech MC462 and 80mm 80CFM delta to water cooling and pelt in the form of a Swiftech MCW-462-UHT. Always had better temps with water but someday I hope to do a phase change cooler.