• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Northbridge heatsink removal...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

stan03

Well i took the stock heatsink off of my northbridge yesterday and i don't exactly know what was there originally, it is this pink goo... and its not a thermal compound. Its almost like a foamy substance. So i tried some alcohol to remove it, and it didn't work, i ended up using my nail to scrape some of it off, but there is still some of whatever it was left on the northbridge. What else can i try?

im to scared to do that:eek: this is my first time doing this...

Try 99% isopropyl alcohol, regular stuff is usually tough. It takes some work to get that pink gummy stuff off, and I usually resort to the razor method. If you are slow and careful you won't hurt anything, just use the tip of the blade to scrape the edges of the goo up. You might be able to get it off okay with just the 99% and a credit card, though.

Tekime said:
Try 99% isopropyl alcohol, regular stuff is usually tough. It takes some work to get that pink gummy stuff off, and I usually resort to the razor method. If you are slow and careful you won't hurt anything, just use the tip of the blade to scrape the edges of the goo up. You might be able to get it off okay with just the 99% and a credit card, though.

ok, umm how fragile is the chip?

awsome, and im just about to order some stuff from them too:)

thanks

won'd damage my chip? I got some of that sitting around here somewhere.

Ive gone through this already, so I know your pain. The stuff is like pink bubble gum and takes forever to get off. Especially if under the chip is anything like the ic7 and has a sponge type thing around the outside, acting like a shim and your trying not to mess that up.