• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

is this too hot?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

lazy smurf

Registered
Just turned on my computer and the BIOS said my CPU was at around 48 C, is this normal or is this too hot?

I have an Athlon XP 2500+ cooled by an SK7. This is my first build so I don't know, and it's prolly likely i messed up somewhere.

It's a little warm however it depends on the cfm of your fan. What fan are you using? Specs such as cfm would help us evaluate the performance of your HSF. A couple things you'll want to check are:

1) TIM (thermal interface material) is the good stuff e.g. Arctic Silver 3, AS Ceramique, etc. and is applied as a very thin layer e.g. paper thin

2) Your fan is blowing into the HSF and not pulling air through it. Blowing is more effective than sucking.

~THT

I have an 80mm Thermaltake Smart Case Fan 2 (don't know cfm).

I applied some sort of TIM, which came with the SK7 when I ordered it, this prolly sounds bad but i really don't know what kind it is.

As for the fan, it is blowing down onto the HSF.

What does the cpu fan read rpm wise at these temperatures. The SCF2 is supposed to reach 4800 rpm at 55C on the probe. Try reading the tepmeratures with the fan on full speed.

i just turned it on again, and the CPU read only 46C now, the fan was at 4891 RPMs.

*it was only on for about 30 seconds though so that may be why it was slightly lower than before

i have an side fan blowing into the case right at the cpu, and blowhole on top blowing out, and and fan in the back blowing out (all 80mm)

i assume that's good ventilation, im prolly going to assume that i installed the cooler wrong? or maybe i didn't put the TIM on right?