• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Prime95 woes!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ghost_shell

Registered
I am new to overclocking and have been making an attempt at it.

I have been trying to lower the latency settings on my Corsair XMS PC3500 512MB sticks (total 1 GB ) from their default of 2.5-8-3-3 to something more aggressive like 2-6-2-2. So far whenever I run Prime 95 it always craps out on me after a few minutes at the more aggresive memory settings.

I have an Abit IC7-G mobo with the latest BIOS.

I increased the Vdimm from the default setting of 2.6 up to 2.65.

That did not help. I then proceeded to increase the Vdimm from 2.65 up to 2.7. Once again that did not help. My only option is to try more voltage (only option left is 2.8v) or to let up on the timings.

The two sticks are running in Dual DDR mode and they are not TwinX. The winbond Hardware doctor program that came with the mobo reads DDR temps acillating between 2.65-2.67v. I think that if I leave the Vdimm at 2.7 that it should be OK. I would love to hear from anyone that has a similar setup how successful they have been and suggestions for me to try.

Also please let me know if running my memory at Vdimm of 2.7 v is safe, I really don't want to destroy the sticks , they cost me an arm and a leg. :)

If 2-6-2-2 is unobtainable is it better to go with 2-7-2-2 or 2-6-3-3?

Anyhelp is as always appreciated! :)

I run my Corsair 3500's at 2.8 voltage @ 2-5-2-2 all the time, so the voltage for you should be okay. Lots of people here run their RAM @ 2.8. :D What speed are you trying to run the RAM at?