• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Noob overclocking a Barton 2500, help please.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

heilel

Registered
Hi, just registered today.
Even though I say I'm a noob, I've built many PCs over the years and I'm very familiar with them.
However, I'm new to overclocking CPUs and RAM.

So first my System specs.

Epox 8rda Mobo
1X512mb Corsair Value RAM CAS2.5, PC3200
AMD Barton 2500
Maxtor 80gb HDD IDE133
Coolermaster Aero 7+ Heatsink/Fan
Palit Systems TI4200 128mb RAM
Full tower Aopen case with a 300Watt PSU.

My Processor is currently running at stock speed (1833 Mhz)

My Video card is overclocked to the same speed as the TI4400 and it has been that way for months with no problems.

My RAM timings are set to 5222 I think and a 133 FSB, as my system was unstable if I didn't set it to that.
The voltage is set to default.

So, I just bought the Coolermaster Aero 7+ the other day and I feel I'm ready to overclock, however, as I said I'm pretty new to this.

Can someone please enlighten me as to what I ought to be doing with the memory settings and Processor settings?

I know I can up the FSB of the processor, which is preferable and that it MAY be necessary to up the voltage.
But what confuses me is how the RAM speed relates to this and whether the RAM and processor should be kept in sync somehow, as when I first put teh RAM in my system, it was very unstable until I set it to 133mhz.

And hi :)

Last edited: